top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePorctia Symone

Quarantine Ground Taco Meat Made from Walnuts & Mushrooms

So, Whats Cooking? Good Looking?


Craving tacos? Me too! Has it ever occurred to you to try making lettuce wraps at home? For some reason I couldn't put two and two together?


My favorite lettuce wraps are made at some of my favorite vegan restaurants around town, and recreating them were never a thought of mine.


Well, until now, and guess what? Its super easy and makes a suprisingly delicious, filling, and healthy meal. No Lies, I've out done myself with this ground meat! Whoa!


Plant based Taco Meat for the Win....



Mmmm yummy, I want that meat!


Fun fact: You can make this a raw dish as well. August is the month i choose to go fully raw for 30 days (it's not east I'll tell ya). This is one of my favorite go to recipes during my Rawgust challenge! All you have to do is mix all ingredients together and DON'T add any heat. Go ahead and ditch the frying pan. Trust me, its equally good. Here's a picture below of what the raw version looks like. I made this 2 Augusts ago and every time I look at this picture my mouth waters.



Turn Up The Heat! Let's Get Cooking...


Ingredients


soak walnuts and mushrooms overnight or 2 hours:

1/4 cup liquid aminos or soy sauce

1/4 cup vinegar

1/2 cup water


Taco meat base

1/2 cup cherry tomatoes

1/2 cup tomatoes

2 tbsp tomatoes paste

1/2 cup veggie broth

1/2 cup mushrooms

2 cups walnuts

2 tbsp ketchup

Add above ingredients to a processor, mix and set aside.


Seasonings

1 tbsp chilli lime powder

2 tbsp cumin

2 tbsp taco season

1 tbsp garlic powder

1 tsp sea salt

1 tbsp ketchup

1/2 poblano pepper

1/2 red bell pepper

1/4 red onion

1 garlic clove

3 tbsp olive oil

Romane Lettuce: as many as you would like to fill!




Ready to eat? Lets Gooo!


Instructions


Lets start with soaking our mushrooms and walnuts overnight or for a minimum of 2 hours. once finished soaking drain and add to a processor. set mixture aside.


In a clean processor add cherry tomatoes, tomatoes, ketchup, tomatoes paste, and veggie broth, blend and pour mixture to already processed walnuts and mushrooms. Mix with a spatula. set aside


In a large frying pan, over medium heat drizzle olive oil and add peppers, onions and garlic. lets sauté for 3 mins while stirring. Add all seasoning to the pan continuing to stir for about 1 min. Add taco base to the pan cook and stir for 3mins. bring heat down and lets simmer for 2 mins.


Prep Lettuce wraps, add taco meat, garnish with as many toppings as you would like: Cheese, avocado, peppers, tomatoes, celery, cilantro, cucumbers, sriracha and the list can go on and on. Eat and enjoy!



Wow! Can you believe this is only walnuts and mushrooms? Me either, when I made this dish 2 years ago, I was blown away, but more in shock on how flavorful it was.


Thank you for visiting me Today! I hope you've enjoyed this recipe! until next time.




Just feed me and call me pretty.

Blessings and love


Porctia.









39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page